Since 2015, HÕFF gives out a lifetime achievement award and an audience award. Among the recipients of the lifetime achievement awards are Tobe Hooper, Bill Rebane and Ben Wheatley, Harry Kümel and others.
The award is a glow-in-the-dark 3D-printed howling wolf designed by Siim Tuksam.
As a member of the European Fantastic Festivals Federation Méliès, HÕFF is proud to host the international short film competition program and give out the Méliès d’Argent for the best short film. The receiver of the award will be then nominated for the best genre short film of the year that is awarded with the Méliès d’Or at the Sitges Fantastic Festival.

Short Film Méliès d’Argent

  • Best Film Award (grant of 5000 euros, shared by the Director and Producer)
  • Two Special Jury Prizes

HÕFF Audience Award

2012: “Iron Sky”, dir Timo Vuorensola (Finland/Germany)
2013: “Omnivores”, dir Oscar Rojo (Spain)
2014: “In Order of Disappearance”, dir Hans Peter Molland (Norway/Denmark)
2015: “The Guest”, dir Adam Wingar (USA)
2016: “In Search of the Ultra Sex”, dir Nicolas Charlet, Bruno Lavaine (France)
2017: “Bad Black”, dir Nabwana I.G.G. (Uganda)
2018: “Snowflake”, dir Adolfo Kolmerer and William James (Germany)
2019: “One Cut of the Dead”, dir. Shinichirô Ueda (Japan)

HÕFF Lifetime Achievement Award

2013: Hideo Nakata (Japan)
2014: Tobe Hooper (USA)
2015: Sven Grünberg (Estonia)
2016: Karel Zeman, posthumous (Czechoslovakia)
2018: “Jupiter” (Estonia)
2019: Priit Vaher (Estonia), Vladimir Tarassov (Russia)








© 2019 NGO Black Nights Film Festival