Submit your film!

Deadline for feature and short film submissions for the 19th HÕFF is March 2nd, 2024. The festival will take place from April 26-28, 2024.


Haapsalu Horror and Fantasy Film Festival (HÕFF) accepts feature films and short films.

European short films are eligible for winning the Méliès d’Argent award presented by the Mélies International Festivals Federation (MIFF). All feature films have a chance to win the HÕFF Audience Award.

Haapsalu Horror and Fantasy Film Festival accepts entries exclusively via FilmFreeway.

Waiver Policy

Submission fees are used to fund screening rights, special events and marketing.
As much as we love and appreciate your films and work, we are unfortunately unable to provide free waivers at this time.

If you have any questions about the submission process, please write to

Regulations and requirements

1.1 Films premiered after: April 1st, 2023
1.2 Short (45 minutes or under) or full-length (45 minutes or over) films
1.3 Genre cinema (fantasy, horror, sci-fi, etc.)
1.4 Screening format: DCP (Interop or SMPTE), FullHD 1920x1080px Prores, DNxHD, h264 in .mov container
1.5 Translation: with English subtitles if not spoken in English

Méliès d’Argent Competition Film Eligibility Criteria

2.1 Films premiered after: January 1st, 2023
2.2 Short films (25 minutes or under)
2.3 The Film must belong to the fantastic genre
2.4 The Film must not have won a Silver Méliès at another festival
2.5 The Film must be a European production.

The determination of the European character of a film is done according to the 2 following options:
The director(s) is (are) European and in this case a co-production could be considered (1 or 2 European countries and 1 non-European country).
The director(s) is (are) non-European, in which case the production has to be entirely European (a non-European co-production, even as a minority interest, is not accepted).
The list of countries accepted as European is:

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland and Croatia.
Fore more information, please contact


Illustration by Liisi Grünberg